Lowering on anchors.

Access, Rehab Projects, Derbyfests and more...
milspecmark

Lowering on anchors.

Post by milspecmark »

So I read 2 articles today on facebook. One from American Alpine club and one from the RRG Fixed gear initiative. Both are recommending us lower from the anchors now rather than Rappelling. I have been climbing in the Red for about 8 years now and I have always heard it is more ethical to Rap than Lower. I just wanted to get your all thoughts on this issue. Do you Rap or lower?
Rotarypwr345704

Re: Lowering on anchors.

Post by Rotarypwr345704 »

This topic hasn't been beaten like the proverbial dead horse.
I fell for the everyone-shut-up-and-ill-donate-money scheme. -Ray Ellington, guidebook gawd

My name is Sam Douglass and I love to pose for photo shoots holding on to a jug with only one hand (and no feet!) with my best friend Ian.
Cromper

Post by Cromper »

To say it is more ethical to rappel on a one pitch route is completely stupid when quicklinks are a dollar and easily replaceable.
milspecmark

Post by milspecmark »

I dont worry about the cost as much as I worry about people actually keeping up with it.
lena_chita

Post by lena_chita »

milspecmark wrote:I don't worry about the cost as much as I worry about people actually keeping up with it.
"People" include you. Do your part to make sure the anchors are good on the routes you climb. Even if just a small minority of people does that, everything is fine, because those chains can take thousands of lowerings before they become dangerous. So ~1 person in a thousand carrying a couple of extra quicklinks in their bag is good. Be that person.
clif

Post by clif »

quicklinks or the missing link?
training is for people who care, i have a job.
captain static

Post by captain static »

Don't you just love revisionism ;)