Virgin Tri-Cams

Placing a cam? Slotting a nut? Slinging a tree?
agentWTF

Virgin Tri-Cams

Post by agentWTF »

I recently purchased a set of .5-3.0 Tri-Cams because I was planning on taking a trip with my brother to the Gunks in May. To make a long story short, I'm not longer going to the Gunks, but I would still like to put my Tri-Cams to use.

I'm new to trad climbing, and I'm also not the kind of person to just hop on a route without knowing what the hell they are doing. Once I figure out how to properly place Tri-Cams, will I have any luck with them at the Red on some beginner routes? Or should I say "screw it" and purchase more gear?
Saxman

Post by Saxman »

Just start climbing with them. They work great.
The theory of evolution is just as stupid as the theories of gravity and electromagnetism.
ynot

Post by ynot »

I hope you have something besides just tricams. They work but you will want some cams.
"Everyone should have a plan for the zombie apocolipse" Courtney
bcombs

Post by bcombs »

Doesn't The Arrowhead at Pebble Beach have some horizontal placements?

Oh, and if you don't know how to place something as simple as a tri-cam you may want to kick the dust off of one the traddies and take them climbing with you.
Sandman

Post by Sandman »

"Motha" @ roadside. Easy face climbing w/good gear in certain spots, lots of horiz. placement, there is a pocket near the top that takes a pink tri-cam perfectly.
Its all about Style....
agentWTF

Virgin Tri-Cams

Post by agentWTF »

Thanks for the responses. After looking through the message board, I've concluded that I definitely need more gear, but I appreciate the tips nonetheless!
woodchuck008

Post by woodchuck008 »

They're cool gear, just take a couple tries to get manipulated into one hand for placement. Practice with a PENIS long enough and it's second nature, though man. They make good nuts besides the cam option.
p0bray01

Post by p0bray01 »